Inspiration, creation, rejuvination

I just got back from an amazing two-week writing retreat on the Baja of Mexico.  I finally took the time to work on the screenplay adaptation of my one woman play Bye Bye Bombay.  This is a project I’ve wanted to work on for years, but when I’m in Vancouver it is easy to become busy with a myriad of other artistic projects, making it difficult to focus on writing a screenplay.

I spent the time in a house on the beach, far away from society and distractions.  My only friends were Pedro the 70-year-old man who sold me fresh coconut water at a juice stand in town and his 20-year-old Iguana.  With nothing to do but write, read (I’ve finally taken the time to dive into Shantaram), swim, do yoga and explore the beach it truly was a perfect trip for me.  I’ve almost finished my first draft of the screenplay and I really enjoyed the process.  It’s hard to believe that just over a week ago I standing on a balmy Mexican night pondering the stars.  I am so grateful that I took the time to relax, rejuvenate and create.

~ by carayeates on April 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
