Is still all about the Weird Sex and Snowshoes?

Here’s a link to an interesting article I was reading today about the current climate of the Canadian film industry. It was written by Katherine Monk who wrote the book Weird Sex & Snowshoes, a guide to contemporary Canadian cinema.  I love the title of this book because it is entirely appropriate.My film friends often joke that Canadian films are all ‘fucked up family dramas’.  Maybe this was the case at one point in our cinematic history, but Canadian films have really evolved beyond that.  I see some the best and brightest Canadian film at the various festivals I attend and there are some stellar ones out there.   

I think it’s a shame that a larger portion of the English-speaking Canadian population don’t support their indigenous film industry.  Recently I was interviewing Elizabeth Yake at the Whistler Film Festival.  I told my cameraman that she’d produced It’s All Gone Pete Tong and he replied, “I loved that film!  Wait…that’s a Canadian film!?”  And this is from someone who works in the film industry!

Here’s a question for you, what is the last Canadian film you truly enjoyed?  The first one that comes to mind for me is Incendies, but more on that later.  For now, here’s a teaser:

~ by carayeates on January 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
