Sundancing

Park City

This year, I made my first pilgrimage to Park City for the Sundance Film Festival. Our plan was to basically ‘go with the flow’ which worked out great. I met a cast of characters, saw a lot of interesting films and had a blast.

Before I left for Sundance, I asked all the festival vets I knew for advice. The most useful piece of advice came from the journalist who basically prepared me not to get much sleep, which really is good advice for any festival going experience. Here’s a few things I learned while Sundancing this year.

I'm usually not a morning person, but a 8am screening of the World Cinema Dramatic Competition opener, Lilting, after barely and sleep was a good idea.

I’m usually not a morning person, but a 8am screening of the World Cinema Dramatic Competition opener, Lilting, after barely and sleep was a good idea.

#1.) It’s worth getting up for early morning screenings.

Normally I’m not a morning person, but when I was offered a ticket to the 8:30am screening of the World Cinema Dramatic Competition opener, Lilting, I couldn’t say no. Between my flight across the country and the excitement of opening night parties I barely slept the day before, but I was still so glad that I got up for that early morning screening.

Wonder Woman

2.) You’ll meet a lot of interesting people

Everyone I met at the festival was really open to meeting new people. I met ‘Wonder Woman’ at an Indiegogo cocktail reception. She told me that she’s from Hollywood, and she’s managing alien’s reputations on earth. I’m not sure why extraterrestrials hired Wonder Woman as their PR girl, but that’s what she told me.

Queens of the Fela Kuti band

Queens of the Fela Kuti band

#2.) You never know where you’re going to end up.

There’s an array of diverse things going on during Sundance at any given time.  One minute I was dancing to the Fela Kuti band and the next I was partying on a balcony with Lindsay Lohan.

Eugene Hernandez interviews Stuart Murdoch, of Belle and Sebastian, about his directorial debut, God Help the Girl. #Sundance #DailyBuzz

Eugene Hernandez interviews Stuart Murdoch, of Belle and Sebastian, about his directorial debut, God Help the Girl.

4.) Stop and listen.

I had the chance to sit and listen to some interesting conversations like the How Many Wrongs Make a Right panel on failure in the film industry, or Euguene Hernandez interviewing filmmakers for his radio show, The Daily Buzz.

Rae Spoon in My Prairie Home.

Rae Spoon in My Prairie Home.

5.) Take a Chance

With over 100 films in the festival, take a chance and see something offbeat. A lot of the ‘hot’ films will be distributed.

I went to see the only Canadian feature in the Sundance, and it was an awesome musical documentary about a transgender artist that’s directed by a woman (Chelsea McMullan). Go Chelsea!

Art break at the Airbnb Haus

My beautiful mess

#6.) Sometimes you just need to take a break.

All the films, parties and lack of sleep finally caught up to me, but luckily I found respite in the AirBnb Hause where I discovered their communal art table. Pushing paint around a page can be a very relaxing thing. I made quite a beautiful mess at the art table and managed to get a good amount of paint on myself, but I was rejuvenated!

360 degree virtual Beck concert at New Frontier

360 degree virtual Beck concert at New Frontier

#7.) Try something new

The New Frontier section is a social and creative space that showcases media installations, multimedia performances, transmedia experiences and more. I would have missed it had my colleague, who runs the Convergence during the New York Film Festival, not told me to check it out.

Ladies at Sundance

Hanging with my beautiful ladies. Emma Myers (left), Me (middle),Lindsay Nahmiache (right)

8.) Have fun!

For me, this year was about new films, new people and new experiences. I look forward to Sundancing again.

Do you have any Sundance tips? I’d love to hear them.

~ by carayeates on February 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
